Established in 1987, this scholarship honors the late Msgr. Henkes who served as our Spiritual Advisor for 27 years. The scholarship is open to any resident of Texas, Arizona, Florida, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Mississippi who is enrolled in a Roman Catholic Seminary.

The deadline to apply for the 2020 Msgr. Henkes Scholarship for Seminarians is June 15, 2020.
Click here to download the Application & Criteria.

Congratulations to our 2018 Msgr. Henkes Scholarship Winners!

Elias “Trey” Chapa of Beeville, Texas and Dalton Ervin of Weimar, Texas were awarded a first-time $2,000 scholarship through the Rev. Msgr. Albert George Henkes Seminarian Scholarship Fund.
Chapa is a first-year Theology seminarian with St. Mary’s Seminary in Houston, Texas. He plans to serve the Diocese of Austin. Ervin is currently a Theology III seminarian at the Pontifical College of Josephinum. He is studying to serve the Diocese of Victoria.

Repeat scholarships were also awarded to past winners Duncan Amek studying at Assumption Seminary in San Antonio, William Hayes studying at Theological College in Washington, D.C., Samuel Bass, Michael Caraway and Christopher Smith, all of whom are studying at the Pontifical North American College, and Fernando Ricaud-Cavazos studying at St. Mary’s Seminary in Houston.